I want to buy a firearm, but I don’t know my PIN or lost my PIN. How do I get it?
Fingerprints are no longer used as a verification method to purchase a firearm in Massachusetts and license holders now need to have their PIN number.
If you have lost your PIN or don’t know it, you can now retrieve the PIN number for your active license to carry (LTC), firearms identification (FID) card, or machine gun license through the DCJIS by calling (617) 660-4722 during the normal business hours of Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. The following information is required:
- Date of birth
- Active LTC, FID card, or machine gun license number
- Driver’s license number (for identity verification)
I came in to purchase a firearm and was told I was “delayed”. What does that mean?
From the FBI’s NICS page:
A Delayed message from the NICS indicates the subject of a NICS background check has been matched with a similar name and similar descriptive information associated with a record containing a potential state or federal firearm prohibition. The NICS Section must obtain additional information before making a final determination of a Proceed or Denied for the firearm transfer. The NICS Section is afforded three business days in which to conduct this research. If the NICS Section is unable to provide either a Proceed or Denied response to the Federal Firearms Licensee within three business days, the Brady Handgun Violence Prevention Act of 1993 does not prohibit the Federal Firearms Licensee, or FFL, from transferring the firearm; however, the FFL is not required to do so.
Can I buy a firearm as a gift for someone else?
Yes, you can buy a firearm as a gift for someone else as long as that person is not prohibited or unable to obtain a firearm on their own.
The instructions for Question 11a on the 4473, the federal background check form, state.
However, if Mr. Brown goes to buy a firearm with his own money to give Mr. Black as a present, Mr. Brown is the actual transferee/buyer of the firearm and should anser “YES” to questions 11.a. However, you may not transfer a firearm to any person you know or have reasonable cause to believe is prohibited under 18 U.S.C. § 922(g), (n), or (s).
Is there a 3 or 7 day waiting period to buy a gun in Massachusetts?
No, there is not a waiting period in Massachusetts to purchase a firearm.
Massachusetts is part of the National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS). As long as your NICS check comes back with a “proceed” status, you can purchase and leave with your firearm. The entire process typically takes around 15 minutes.
However, some people may have a 3 day wait. See the above question on being “delayed” when purchasing a firearm.
I hear the term “pre ban” a lot in Massachusetts when it comes to firearms. What does that mean?
There are two different things when it comes to “pre ban” in Massachusetts.
“Pre ban” can pertain to semi-automatic rifles and shotguns as well as “high capacity” magazines. On September 13, 1994 the federal “assault weapon ban” was signed into law, which limited magazine capacity to 10 rounds or less and also limited the features that semi-automatic rifles and shotguns could have.
When that law expired in September of 2004, Massachusetts adopted that law and it lives on in the Commonwealth today.
The second matter this pertains to in Massachusetts relates to handguns. On October 21, 1998, the Massachusetts Gun Control Act took effect. That law restricts the handguns that can be legally purchased from gun dealers in Massachusetts. Any handgun sold after that date needs to be on the Approved Firearms Roster and deamed legal for sale by the Massachusetts Attorney General’s “Handgun Sales Regulations”.
Do you sell Glocks, Kimber, etc…?
Unfortuntely not new ones. Any handgun that is not on the approved firearm rosters has to have been manufactured prior to October 21, 1998.
For the reasons, see the next question.
Where can I find the Massachusetts Approved Firearms Roster?
You can find it on the web page for the Executive Office of Public Safety.
Be sure to read the full introduction of the list where it talks about handguns also having to meet the Attorney General’s Handgun Sales Regulations.
Where can I find the Attorney General’s list of approved firearms?
No such list actually exists. The Attorney General’s office has put together a series of regulations that must be followed by gun dealers in Massachusetts and prevents the sale of certain handguns.
But another shop in Massachusetts is selling new Glocks and other handguns not listed on the roster! Why don’t you?
They may be, but if they are selling Glocks to individuals that are not law enforcement or other guns that are not on the roster, they are breaking the law.
We choose to not break the law.
Do you offer firearms training?
We do! Tombstone Trading Company started as a training company in 1994, so we have almost 30 years of training under our belts.
We offer a NRA and Mass State Police certified course that qualifies you to apply for your License To Carry (LTC) or Firearms Identification Card (FID). Details and registration for our classes can be found on our LTC Course Page.
My relative passed away and left me one or more firearms in their will. Do I need to register those guns?
Yes. Massachusetts state law requires the registration of all transfers of firearms.
To register those firearms you can complete an electronic FA-10 form.
I am selling a firearm in a private sale. What do I need to do?
We have two thoughts the private sale of firearms.
If you are selling your firearm to someone you have little knowledge about, for example, someone from your local shooting club, an internet forum, etc., we recommend you perform that transfer at a gun dealer. A federally licensed firearms dealer will perform a background check on the person purchasing the gun. This will help ensure you are not selling your firearm to someone that is legally prevented from purchasing a gun.
If the person you are selling your gun to is a family member, close friend or someone you have intimate knowledge of and are confident they are not legally prohibited from purchasing firearms, you can use the Massachusetts Gun Transfer Portal to transfer (record the sale) of that firearm.
Individuals are allowed to perform up to sell 4 firearms per year in private sales. Any more than 4 and you are required to go through a dealer.